FILM REVIEWS

Oppenheimer - Nolan's worst film
FILM REVIEWS · 09/08/2023
Rarely have I been this indecisive about a film than about <i>Oppenheimer</i>. It’s been a bit over two weeks that I’ve watched it, and I still can’t really make up my mind whether I enjoyed it or not at all. Although I have such a complicated relationship with Nolan’s newest film, one sad thing is certain - I can’t hide that for me, the film was a crushing disappointment. You need to understand that when I was in my teenage years, as so many other teenagers, Christopher...

My Top 20 of 2021
FILM REVIEWS · 14/03/2022
An amazing cinematic year has come to an end. Read here about my Top 20 of 2021 - as well as about my Flop 15.

You have to watch "Don't Look Up".
FILM REVIEWS · 25/12/2021
Adam McKay's later filmography – starting from The Big Short - made him to one of my favourite directors working nowadays. Noone combines mainstream comedy with left-wing political analysis as he does. Vice was an absolute masterpiece, a film which lead to the question what McKay would come up with after. As you can imagine, my expectations were high, but Don't Look Up easily exceeded them. There is nothing left to add to this film: it's funny, shocking, suspenseful, different, authentic,...

"Lion": the greatest Google Earth ad we'll ever get to watch
FILM REVIEWS · 21/12/2021
This is a story which simply had to be told. This is hands down one of the most touching films I've ever seen. This is the film which had to be made for all the adopted kids in this world. No doubt this is a tearjerker – especially the music (which is amazing though) never gives you a break. And of course they casted 4000 little Indian boys and chose the cutest in the world for this role. But I'll happily forgive this, as this film is nothing less than absolutely incredible. It's beautifully...

"Passing": one of the most surprising films of the 2022 Oscar season
FILM REVIEWS · 19/12/2021
This is not the typical politically correct Oscar bait you would think it is. In the last years, more and more films got released which chose their topics simply to win as many awards as possible. Whether it was women, rape, racism – all these are topics which deserve all the attention and action of the world. But more and more filmmakers made very mediocre productions about them which were clearly only there to make money and to get recognised by the award juries. Especially 2020, this was...

Scott's "House of Gucci": witty or irrelevant?
FILM REVIEWS · 24/11/2021
To the surprise of everyone, the reviews of House of Gucci were mixed. The New York Post's review was one of the worst I've ever read. Johnny Oleksinski, the review's author writes that the film should have been called “How to Make the Assassination of a Famous Person Boring“. Honestly, he isn't that wrong. House of Gucci isn't the top Oscar contender we all hoped for. It's a very long, not very relevant film which tells a story nobody ever asked for. The art of the biopic or any other film...

Sweden's "Pleasure": the most underrated gem of 2021
FILM REVIEWS · 07/11/2021
I am speechless. My expectations were extremely high, but what I watched here was incredible. Pleasure is an artwork. A highly complex, reflected and mature artwork. Let's not talk about the moral side of the story – if it wants to portray the dangers of the industry, if it wants to show the beautiful sides of it (yes, the beautiful – i didn't know myself before this film that it could also be fun for some of the people involved), if we should identify with the protagonist or not. Let's not...

Why Dune is not the masterpiece everbody thinks it is
FILM REVIEWS · 21/09/2021
2 years of waiting are finally over. Since the very first time I've heard about Villeneuve's Dune, I've been extremely excited. I've read the book, I waited throughout the lockdowns. My anticipation has only grown after reading all these raving reviews. Now that I've finally seen it, I'd love to be able to say that I loved it too. But unfortunately, I didn't. Of course, this is an amazing film. Its size is insane, the actors breathtaking, the images overwhelming. But still, I realized after...

Nicolas Winding Refn getting lost: Too Old to Die Young
FILM REVIEWS · 27/04/2021
Let me put out there first that Nicolas Winding Refn is one of my favourite directors. Of course I love Drive and Bronson, but The Neon Demon even ranks among my favourite films. So sooner or later, I had to watch Too Old To Die Young. This is truly made for die-hard NWR fans. But even as a huge fan, I have to admit that this doesn't even come close to what he made before. The reason for that is that Refn doesn't really have a clue what he's telling here. What made his other films so great is...

Judas and the Black Messiah - the best film of 2021 so far
FILM REVIEWS · 05/03/2021
It's clear: This is 2021's best film so far. The only worthy choice for the Best Picture Oscar.

Show more